The Erasmus Smith Grammar School on College Road is an important part of Galway’s historical heritage.
Designed by famous architect Richard Morrison in 1807, the building had been lying derelict since the departure of NUI Galway in 1993. A careful restoration project began in 2006 and the building has finally been returned to its original glory with the addition of a modern wing. Morrison’s vision was to create an outstanding educational environment and this vision has been reinstated by Yeats College through the completion of the restoration project.
The Grammar School building is open to the public during the summer months and many former students and tenants of the grammar school have come back to celebrate the schools return to its original glory. The College encourages visitors to come and appreciate the original design and meticulous restoration of this stunning part of Galway’s rich heritage.
Opening Times: Yeats College will be open to the public on weekends from Easter and throughout the months of July and August.